ClosedNew TopicNew Poll

 DNS issues
#
Today during the afternoon (12PM-3:00PM EST) there were DNS (domain name server) issues with jcink.com, jcink.net, jfbs.net etc. Early morning during the AM hours, there was also sporadic intermittent DNS issues.

This lead to the following:
  • DNS Lookup failed when trying to visit a board
  • Some images not loading
  • "Not found" or server not found errors
Unfortunately, DNS is not controlled by us and isn't part of our infrastructure. We gathered information from enom and namecheap who host all of our DNS, and they acknowledged an issue with thousands domains resolving in their network.

As of 2:05 PM EST, enom confirmed the issue and stated it has been resolved. However, because of the nature of domain name servers, your ISP may not have picked up that their systems are live again. Unfortunately if you still can't access this is probably the case and you may need to reboot your computer or wait for your internet service provider to update their entries for the hosted domains.

https://twitter.com/enom/status/530798218385162242

We will consider future options for hosting our own DNS server if problems persist, but since they have been relatively reliable we are not changing at this point. Most ISP dns should be updated within an hour or so, but there are a few that lag behind.

We apologize for the inconvenience, please feel free to reach out if you're having trouble.

-John Cuppi, JFH Administrator

signature
email: admin@jcink.com :: blog: John C.
#
An update has been provided by our registrar:

QUOTE
Posted by Konstantin R. on 7th November 2014 @ 2:59 pm
n/a
[resolved] Intermittent issues with Default DNS System Version 

Update @ 08:10 PM GMT | 03:10 PM EDT

Unfortunately, Private Email service may work intermittently as well. We are doing our best to get this issue resolved and restore the normal service. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Update @ 23:05 GMT | 06:05 PM EDT

We are glad to let you know that the issue has been successfully fixed. Thank you for your patience and understanding.


We realize some users are still having issues. Unfortunately because it may take 24 hours for ALL users DNS to update, please bear with us. Reach out to admin@jcink.com if you are struggling, we currently suggest the following:

1. Flushing DNS cache using start -> cmd -> ipconfig /flushdns if you have a PC or this if you have a mac: http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT5343

2. Possibly reset your router or flush the DNS on the router if you can.

3. If you are comfortable and technically comfortable, switch your DNS to OpenDNS: https://www.opendns.com/

signature
email: admin@jcink.com :: blog: John C.
#
DNS issues again.

In completely unscheduled maintenance, at 6:05 PM our domain provider posted this:

QUOTE
Dear Customers,

We are currently experiencing temporary technical issues with DNS System V 1. If your domain name(s) is using DNS System V 1 (dns1-5.name-services.com) the following services may be affected:

– domain resolving

– domain host record updates

– URL and email forwarding


There is no ETA so we are monitoring this situation closely.

signature
email: admin@jcink.com :: blog: John C.
#
DNS issues have returned as a result of massive DDoS against namecheap.

Excerpts from the news post at namecheap.

QUOTE
Update @ 04:00 GMT | 11:00 PM EST

To our regret the DDoS has resumed.  Our technical team is working on addressing the issue. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced due to this situation. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Update @ 6:25 GMT | 1:25 AM EST

The attack is almost mitigated and around 90% of the servers are up and running at the moment. We are constantly monitoring the issue and are working to filter and mitigate the attack completely. Thank you for your patience.

Update @ 7:55 GMT | 2:55 AM EST

The attack is still being mitigated and some servers may still respond with delays. Thank you for your continuing patience and understanding.

Update @ 8:55 GMT | 3:55 AM EST

We are still working on this issue, however almost all of our servers are up. Thank you for your patience.

Update @ 10:30 GMT | 5:30 AM EST

Unfortunately, we are still working to mitigate this attack. Thank you very much for your patience and understanding.

Update @ 12:10 GMT | 7:10 AM EST

All servers are running without any delays at the moment, however, the attack is still ongoing. We will let you know once it is completely mitigated.


To clarify, we are NOT being DDoSed. Namecheap is and it is the reason for "DNS lookup failure" for http://jcink.net or .com

signature
email: admin@jcink.com :: blog: John C.
#
Just to let everyone know DNS issues have been resolved. A multitude of issues occurred with DNS again, and caused some CenturyLink users not being able to access our domain names (http://jcink.com.jcink.net ).

This has been resolved, however, over the next month or so I'll be looking at alternative DNS for the first time in the 12 years I've owned the jcink.com domain name.

This is because as DDoS attacks have become stupidly common, we feel it is a hazard to remain in a DNS pool with millions of other domains. We need to purchase our own private DNS going forward.

Thanks to everyone for sticking with us.

signature
email: admin@jcink.com :: blog: John C.
#
Today the DNS service for Jcink.com/net crapped out, and then recovered, but some ISPs take longer than others to discard the bad data. Namely CL, and Comcast in some areas.

Unfortunately we will probably need to leave our domain provider after 10+ years of being with them. My problem is not just with the downtime but lack of support and honesty from them about what is going on. Domain name servers are supposed to 'just work', never have I seen this much trouble.

The problem is we cannot just leave them immediately, we have to plan accordingly for a smooth transition of DNS. So we must wait for this to sort out. Apologies.

signature
email: admin@jcink.com :: blog: John C.
#
Yesterday we experienced an issue with our domain name provider again (enom.com) which affected CenturyLink users. In the next few weeks (now that the holidays are over) due to the fact that this is becoming a monthly occurrence, we will be leaving eNom's domain name servers. News about when this will occur will be posted, because there will unfortunately be downtime during a domain transfer.

As of now you should be able to access because the issue was resolved. Please reach out to me if you can't and I'll do what I can to investigate and get you back online.

Thanks for your patience.

signature
email: admin@jcink.com :: blog: John C.
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
Share this topic:
« Next Oldest | General Announcements | Next Newest »

Options ClosedNew TopicNew Poll